Member Spotlight: Christina Campbell

6 Oct

Christina Campbell
Nina Lily Photography
Wedding / Fine Art Photography
Website: www.ninalilyphotography.com
Blog: www.ninalilyphotography.blogspot.com

Are you a morning or evening person? Evening. Always evening. I put my camera down after college and had a beautiful romance with bartending for a few years. Things have changed a bit since starting my company and my hours have shifted to those of a day walker but I still enjoy lounging in the morning, enjoying my garden for an hour or so and then getting down to business. I tell my clients in advance to expect late night emails!

Coffee or tea? Coffee! Coffee. Black. Lots.

Something that’s overrated: Being a morning person.

Something that’s underrated: Facetime. Social networking has really helped me out but there is nothing like one on one interaction with potential clients. I still get butterflies and hate talking on the phone… but nothing beats making those personal connections.

What’s your favorite comfort food? Mac n’ Cheese! Anytime… anywhere.

Website/blog(s) you visit daily: Check out Junebug Weddings. Endless inspiration.

Who is the photographer that inspires you most? Yikes! I am traditionally biased towards female photographers because I admire the women who can find that elusive balance between art, work & life. But right now Sean Flannigan inspires me. I really appreciate his seamless approach. I’ve also been known to check out Erik Clausen’s work.

Tell us about your very first shoot: Nothing to see here folks! I had many growing pains on the road to becoming a wedding photographer. However, my first” shoot” took place circa 1989. I took my little hot pink point and shoot out and made my 7 year old sister model for me in her swimsuit in front of my Dad’s classic car. I can’t believe that my Mom actually developed that roll of film! However, the photos are still epic.

What is the one thing in your bag you would throw yourself in front of a speeding train for? Not worth it. I’m insured and my cards are always safely stowed away in my pocket!

I am passionate about: Family. Everything vintage. Vintage family members?

To tweet or not to tweet: My Facebook page tweets for me.

What are the top 5 things on your “photographer’s wish list”?
1. My husband to suddenly want to be the other half of my (imaginary) wife/husband super team!
2. Re-branding including a custom website & blog.
3. An office manager to get me organized. (All I want to do is shoot!)
4. New camera body.
5. 85mm, 1.8 lens.

What do you find most difficult about being a photographer? Balance. Finding the balance between delivering a wonderful experience for my clients and living a wonderful experience in my own life can be daunting.

What do you find most rewarding? I am forever grateful to my clients for allowing me to share in the special, intimate and awesome moments that define their lives. Being a documentarian comes with responsibility that can be overwhelming but having the opportunity to experience the trust that these people have in my artistic vision drives me to be better with every moment. The most rewarding aspect of being a professional photographer is experiencing the support that I have from family & friends & clients who become friends.

One Response to “Member Spotlight: Christina Campbell”

  1. Caitlin Domanico October 21, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

    Beautiful work and I enjoyed your answers! I also love all things vintage and vintage family members:)

Leave a Reply

