Member Spotlight: Linda Morrow

14 Jul

Linda Morrow
Linda Morrow Photography
Weddings, Special Events, Maternity, Newborn
Website: www.lindamorrow.net
Blog: www.lindamorrow.net/blog

Are you a morning or evening person? I’m definitely an evening person, until recently. I used to be able to stay up really late, but now that I’m pregnant with twins they tell me when it’s time for me to go to bed. And they are not kidding around!

Coffee or tea? I love tea and I have to admit I’m a bit of a tea snob. Yeah, I’m that person who brings my own tea to your house. My very favorite is Mighty Leaf Vanilla Bean. My pregnancy favorite is Twinings Lady Grey (decaf).

Something that’s overrated: The Canon versus Nikon debate. It really doesn’t matter. They are both amazing brands. It’s whatever works best for you.

Something that’s underrated: Verbal interaction with your client. It can make all the difference during a photo shoot. When I got married married 4 years ago I realized how nerve-wracking it is to have your photo taken. It’s really hard to know that you’re doing the right thing and aren’t looking like an idiot. A few words or a joke from the photographer can really put the subject at ease and it can change the whole photo shoot.

What’s your favorite comfort food? Don’t ask a pregnant lady to name just one! It can’t be done.

Website/blog(s) you visit daily: I’m a Facebook and People.com junkie. I especially love the Babies section on the People site. They are a great little break from the photography world when I’m on the computer all day.

Who is the photographer that inspires you most? There are so many photographers that inspire me in different ways. One of my current faves is Julie Johnson/Vine Images Photography. She has an element of sexy sophistication in her wedding images that I love. Not to mention, her pet photography is the best! So fun!

Tell us about your very first shoot: Yikes! It was 1988 and I was 19 years old. (Do the math and I’ll hurt you!) I had a Datsun hatchback (that’s a car, young folk) that overheated really easily. Everything ran late the entire day. They gave me about 20 minutes for all of the portraits. Needless to say it was a trial by fire kind of day. 200+ weddings later and I still remember the date of my very first wedding and what my bride and groom looked like.

I am passionate about: …becoming a mom. I can’t even express how excited I am!

To tweet or not to tweet: I hate tweeting…I do it…but don’t get it and I HATE it!

What are the top 5 things on your “photographer’s wish list”?

1. Anxiously awaiting the replacement to the Nikon D700.
2. I’d love to have a 2nd shooter on every event that I do.
3. Unlimited closet space for all the newborn props that I love to buy.
4. An unlimited budget so I can buy every cool photography gadget that I want.
5. A studio space. I love shooting on location but I’d love to have a formal space, besides my home office, to meet clients and do occasional sessions.

What is the one thing in your bag you would throw yourself in front of a speeding train for? My camera bag itself. It’s a Jill E bag and I LOVE it!

What do you find most difficult about being a photographer? Having your own photography business can sometimes mean a struggle for a work/life balance. You want to turnaround images as quickly as possible and do the best you can for your client, but also make sure your business isn’t your whole life. At times, I’m sure we all feel like we’re pulled in a million directions at once.

What do you find most rewarding? I’m not sure there’s just one thing that’s most rewarding about being a photographer. For me, there are so many things. I love being my own boss. I love feeling a part of a special life event and having clients that become my friends. I love the feeling that I’m doing something really special and that it’s appreciated. I try to push myself to constantly learn and grow as a photographer and as a business person. It’s an amazing sense of accomplishment to try something new and creative and succeed at it. It makes you want to do it all over again!

One Response to “Member Spotlight: Linda Morrow”

  1. Debbie McGeorge July 15, 2011 at 7:15 am #

    In 1988, i had a Datsun hatchback too! I understand your pain! Best of luck on the babies 🙂 Nice to “meet” you!

Leave a Reply

