Member Spotlight: Brittany Ostrov

2 Jun

Brittany Ostrov
Children and Family Portraiture, Food and Event Photography
Website: www.brittanyostrov.com
Blog: http://brittanyostrov.wordpress.com/

Are you a morning or evening person? Evening – hands down. I am a pro sleeper too – I can sleep until 5 pm without a problem.

Coffee or tea? Tea. Chai Tea is my favorite.

Something that’s overrated: TV. I can go days without watching TV. In fact, I don’t even have cable.

Something that’s underrated: Naps

What’s your favorite comfort food? Ben & Jerry’s Strawberry Cheesecake Ice Cream (that was the easiest question) 🙂

Website/blog(s) you visit daily: Facebook, Etsy, Rue La La. I spend way too much time on Facebook.

Who is the photographer that inspires you most? My good friend, Julia Mead. She taught me to always keep shooting – even if I was shooting nothing. Julia is great at telling her stories through her photos, and she has a lot of stories. She inspired me document my travels, family and friends through my photography. Julia gave me the confidence to shoot everyday life.

Tell us about your very first shoot: This goes way back to when I got my first SLR camera – which was a HUGE deal for me. I wanted to be like a pro and have the camera that said EOS on the strap and was all big and bulky. I didn’t even understand what an SLR was at that time. I had my little sister sit in a flowerbed with her dog and pose for me. I was only 14 years old but it was the first time I shot a whole roll of film of just one subject in the same setting. I’ll never forget the satisfying feeling of clicking the shutter and hearing that sound.

Since that’s not technically a “real” shoot, my first was a family shoot I did for some friends. It was before I was really taking any jobs for commission and they asked me to take family portraits. I felt guilty taking money since I wasn’t really into photographing kids and families. It was a full family shoot – parents & baby – grandparents and sister. I didn’t really have a plan and just did my thing. I was reminded how much I love photographing people – especially kids. I’ve been specializing in kids and family portraiture since.

What is the one thing in your bag you would throw yourself in front of a speeding train for? My 50mm 1.4. I LOVE her 😉

I am passionate about: Food, family and friends. Those are in no specific order 😉

To tweet or not to tweet: I started because I felt I needed to. I can definitely do without tweeting, but there are benefits.

What are the top 5 things on your “photographer’s wish list”? Besides perfect weather every day, about 5 more hours in each day, an assistant and to be totally booked for the next coming year, I would have to say that I would LOVE to own a Leica digital camera. The technology in a Leica is unbelievable and I can’t even imagine how great it would be to have one with me all the time.

What do you find most difficult about being a photographer? What do you find most rewarding? Being your own boss is most difficult and rewarding. Everything is on my plate but I call all the shots. There is no greater feeling than being able to make my own decisions and create my own style. But the pressure, responsibility and risk of having my own business carries some weight too. Lucky for me and hopefully for all photographers out there, the rewards completely outweigh the difficulties.

3 Responses to “Member Spotlight: Brittany Ostrov”

  1. Katie Bradford Osborne June 6, 2011 at 9:17 am #

    GREAT Member Spotlight!
    I loved reading about your first shoot, Brittany! How awesome that you started so early knowing exactly what you wanted to do!

  2. hdipiazza June 6, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    Fabulous spotlight Brittany! And I totally agree – naps are the BEST!

  3. Julia Mead September 1, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

    🙂 i just saw this. love you ❤

Leave a Reply

