Member Spotlight: Abbey Bradshaw

24 Mar

Abbey Bradshaw
Abbey Bradshaw Photography
Weddings, Portraits
Website: www.abbeybradshawphotography.com
Blog: www.abbeybradshawphotography.wordpress.com

Are you a morning or evening person? Definitely a night person! I do my best work late at night. In the morning it takes an hour or so before I’m ready to talk to anyone.

Coffee or tea? I like both and can’t start my morning with out one (see question above) I drink tea during the week and splurge on coffee on the weekends.

Something that’s overrated: Always needing to buy the newest gadget. I think the age of digital has taken away from the art of being a good photographer. Too many people seem to think they need the next great thing to make their images better. Good old fashion practice has taken a backseat to trying to buy your way to the perfect picture. I truly believe the person holding the camera makes the great image, not the gear.

Something that’s underrated: Networking and friendship. I have found the photography world, especially weddings to be very competitive and everyone is so worried about guarding their “secrets.” Its been so refreshing to be part of a wonderful group of women that want to see one another succeed and are glad to offer tips, advice and support along the way.

What’s your favorite comfort food? French Fries!

Website/blog(s) you visit daily: http://www.fredmiranda.com forums and of course Facebook.

Who is the photographer that inspires you most? I could never pick just one person. I follow many different photographers with a wide variety of styles. They all inspire me to become a better photographer and find my own style which is still a work in progress.

Tell us about your very first shoot:
My first real shoot was with one of my closest friends. She was pregnant with her second child and I convinced her to let me take maternity pictures of her. Honestly it didn’t really take much, she’s been a very willing model and assistant anytime I need a hand! For the shoot we took a good 2-3 hours one night after work to walk around without any real plan in place. We ended up finding a field of wildflowers along a river dam and then played at a playground! She and her husband were great sports about it. I was so nervous but it was great working with a friend for the first time!

What is the one thing in your bag you would throw yourself in front of a speeding train for? Memory cards. I know its been said before but I totally agree everything can be replaced except for the once in a lifetime images.

I am passionate about: The obvious answer would be photography but before photography even entered my life I fell in love with horses and riding. I have spent countless hours photographing my horse Travis and his stable mates. I absolutely love to ride but they are also such gorgeous animals to photograph.

To tweet or not to tweet: Not, I have a hard enough time trying to find something interesting to say on Facebook and my blog. I couldn’t imagine adding twitter to it too.

What are the top 5 things on your “photographer’s wish list”? If I could just go out right now and money was not a problem it would definitely be a studio of my own, someone to do all my marketing for me since I’m terrible at it and someone to help with editing since I’d much rather be shooting than sitting at a computer!

What do you find most difficult about being a photographer? What do you find most rewarding? I find getting a fledgling business of the ground the most difficult. It takes a lot of time, love and patience to make it work. The rewards though of meeting new people and sharing in the most exciting times of their lives whether it be a wedding or celebrating their child’s life completely make all the work worthwhile. I’m so thankful for all the new people I’ve had the opportunity to meet through my photography. I wouldn’t change the experience for anything!

3 Responses to “Member Spotlight: Abbey Bradshaw”

  1. Heather DiPiazza March 24, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    Great Spotlight Abbey! Love your over/underrated answers 😉

    • Abbey March 25, 2011 at 10:45 am #

      Thanks Heather!!

  2. Caitlin March 28, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    Great spotlight!!! And I love your horse’s name!!

Leave a Reply

