Member Spotlight: Katie Bradford Osborne

3 Mar

Katie Bradford Osborne
KBO Photography
Fine Art Portraiture, Boudoir, Unbridaled, Photography classes
Website: www.KBOPhotography.com
Blog: www.KBOPhotography.squarespace.com

Are you a morning or evening person? A night person, really. Ever want a meaningful chat at 2 in the morning? I’m totally your girl.

Coffee or tea? Definitely tea.

Something that’s overrated: Sharp focus. I was talking to a fellow photographer one day about the trend with boudoir editing of adding a soft focus look over the picture. When I said that I liked soft focus, she said, “No, Katie. You like OUT of focus.” She wasn’t insulting me; it’s totally true. That Dave Hillesque over-sharpening is popular right now, and I see some pictures with such sharp lines that my eyes hurt. When my teachers in art school used to tell me that they couldn’t understand what I was doing with focus, maybe I should have told them that I didn’t want to make anyone’s eyes hurt. Hahaha!

Something that’s underrated: Composition. It seems to be taking a backseat to cropping and ‘tricks’ like turning the camera at a weird angle. I hear it every time I teach a class and even from photographers every now and then – “You can always crop it.” It drives me batty! Composition is such an integral part of taking a good picture, and really, isn’t that what anyone who picks up a camera is trying to do?

What was the last thing you ate in 2010? A Wendy’s frosty. Yummy way to end the year!

Website/blog(s) you visit daily: Postcards And Pretties, Crash Magazine (although I can’t read a word of French, I love French fashion photography), Deviantart (I type in some random search term, and it’s amazing what talent you can find there!) and then I visit whatever pops up on on my Facebook feed. For that reason, I always try to ‘fan’ the photography pages of photographers I meet, and I love it when they post to Facebook when they update their blogs.

Who is the photographer that inspires you most? Absolutely, Man Ray. He was one of the first photographers to really see the art in portraiture- in photography, really. His work is considered very conceptual, and mine is very much about the subject as well as my own emotions, but I have drawn so much inspiration from his work. Man Ray’s work was really the first that put me in the frame of mind I needed to be in to find myself as a photographer.

Tell us about your very first shoot:
My journey into photography went a little like this: (Disclaimer- at the end of this short story, you will see why I am SO not snooty when other people hop into photography with both feet before finding out what they’re really in for!)
1. “I really enjoy my Kodak Easyshare. In fact, I think I might be a photographer.”
2. “Mother-in-law, I think I need a Canon 30D for Christmas.” (I call her Priscilla, actually, and you can, too!)
3. “Okay, Lauren, pregnant friend of mine, I’m totally a photographer. I’ve decided that you need maternity portraits. Let’s go hang out in the middle of Philadelphia (LOVE Park and the surrounding area) and I’m going to pretend like I know what I’m doing and shoot them for you.”
And that was my first, totally ill-prepared shoot. Actually, it didn’t go that badly. But it wasn’t until my 3rd shoot where I dressed my sister-in-law (and favorite model) up in a fluffy black skirt from a bridesmaid gown and nude shirt and ran around Philadelphia for a day shooting that I figured out my calling.

What is the one thing in your bag you would throw yourself in front of a speeding train for? Before a shoot? Nothing. After? My CF cards. Everything else could be replaced.

I am passionate about: Shooting women. I love shooting kids and couples and the occasional man, too, but I am truly passionate about shooting women. If I could only choose one cause to better humanity for my whole life, it would be to shoot women and make them feel like the piece of art that *I* see instead of the pile of mistakes and problems that we all tend to see when we look in the mirror. Really, what would the world be like if every woman realized how amazing she is?

To tweet or not to tweet: Not to tweet… I can barely remember to blog, let alone tweet!

What are the top 5 things on your “photographer’s wish list”? Here’s the thing… I’m the odd photographer who really can’t think of anything! I mean, I like gadgets as well as the next girl, but when it really comes down to it? I love what my equipment can do right now. Of all my lenses, my favorite is a Tamron 24-70 2.8, which makes me really hard pressed to want any new insanely expensive glass! When I go on a shoot, it’s just me, the model, the camera, and a little bag with some extra batteries and CF cards. The last piece of equipment I really “wanted” was when I upgraded to my Canon 5D Mark IIs… so if the Mark III comes out? Then we’ll talk.

What do you find most difficult about being a photographer? The most difficult thing is the business aspect. I wish I could just be an artist and let someone else run my business! It’s ironic, too, because I actually have a business degree. That was my first degree from back when I thought I wanted to be a high-powered executive in her corner office wearing her gorgeous suits and red-bottomed designer shoes… and then I realized I was more attracted to the shoes than the actual reality!

What do you find most rewarding? All the things I was talking about when I was talking about shooting women. The look in the eyes of a woman, especially one going through a tough time (I give discounts to women going through divorce or break-ups or anything like that) when she sees a piece she loves, and realizes SHE is the model. She thought she was just an ordinary woman, but it turns out she’s gorgeous and amazing.

– This is probably my favorite picture I’ve taken… less than 2 miles from my childhood home in the Florida Panhandle. There isn’t much there, and this was before I started taking on work when I went home to visit.  So I found a model (read: FSU student) who was willing to travel the hour over to Marianna and then went scouting for a good spot.  The next day when I came back with the model, there was this *huge* spiderweb spanning the whole hiking trail! Overnight, this spider had built that web, and if you look closely, you’ll notice he’s missing a leg! I was so inspired by that spider that I keep this picture out to look at when I start to feel like things are getting ‘too hard’.

4 Responses to “Member Spotlight: Katie Bradford Osborne”

  1. Nicole March 3, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    Really enjoyed this interview. Thank you Katie for giving some good food for thought.

  2. hdipiazza March 3, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

    Loved that you gave such a detailed (and fun) account of your journey into photography! Great thoughts about soft -or out of – focus with intent…

  3. Laura Briglia March 4, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    Great Spotlight! The photo of the web & spider missing a leg with your model behind out of focus is phenomenal.

  4. Caits March 5, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    I love it! Katie, you’re awesome. I love the variety and creativity in your images, and of course love the first image of AG!

Leave a Reply

