Member Spotlight: Alix Passage

17 Feb

Alix Passage
Alix Passage Photographer
Wedding, Portrait, Events, Fine Art
Websites: www.alixpassage.com | www.passagefineart.com
Blog: http://www.alixpassage.com/blog-2/

Are you a morning or evening person? If I didn’t love sleeping so much I might get up at 4 a.m. I’ve always been a morning person. Sleepovers when I was younger were tough when I woke up at 6 and my friends rolled out of bed at noon. I got to know their parents well.

Coffee or tea? COFFEE. I’m an addict, snob and connoisseur.

Something that’s overrated: Pop Culture Phenomena like The Jersey Shore and Justin Bieber. How something so awful can be so popular simply baffles me.

Something that’s underrated: Silence. In our rush and tumble world sometimes its nice to just sit in my quiet apartment with my thoughts.

What was the last thing you ate in 2010? Prima donna cheese and a winter lager. Perfect.

Website/blog(s) you visit daily: There are other websites besides Facebook and iGoogle?? No, I love Digital Photography School, it’s got everything from fundamentals to personal project ideas to the latest gear. It gets me excited and keeps me going!

Who is the photographer that inspires you most? I’m not sure I can say there is ONE photographer who inspires me most, I’m inspired by pretty much everyone I see. Herb Ritts was one of the first artists I was really interested in; I love his use of light and shadows and his ability to capture people. Jim Marshall and Jock Sturges are pretty high on my list too.

Tell us about your very first shoot: My first *real* shoot was my friend’s wedding in Amherst, MA amidst a horrendous rainstorm where it seemed to come down an inch a day.- There was NO light to speak of; I remember being so nervous and excited, belting out Mr. Brightside in the car with my husband (then boyfriend!) to help calm me down. But everything went swimmingly, even the reception at the U-Mass Mullins Center Arena: a space of great significance for the bride, groom and all of our friends. I don’t think I sat down all day and shot over 70 rolls of film!

What’s the one thing in your bag you’d throw yourself in front of a speeding train for? The perfect shot. Cameras are replaceable, time is not.

I am passionate about: Growing as a person. Diane Von Furstenberg said “I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do, but I knew the woman I wanted to become” this has pretty much been my motto for some time now. Unsure of myself for so long, I am committed to personal growth; trying new things and learning from my mistakes to be the person and live the life I’ve dreamed of. As long as I’m working at going forward, I am successful.

To tweet or not to tweet: Ugh, I’m TRYING to be a better tweeter. It’s a day by day process but I think I’m improving.

What are the top 5 things on your Photographer’s Wish List? I’m a Nikon girl, so the D3 is pretty high though I would settle for a D700, a couple of 1.4 prime lenses and an endless supply of money to buy it all. Oh, and an assistant!

What do you find most difficult/rewarding about being a photographer? PI don’t want to cop out with cliche answers, but being photographers I’m sure we have a lot of the same feelings about this. Our profession is very expensive, time consuming and sometimes exhausting. The trade-off is that we get to be creative, meet awesome people and help them feel good about themselves every day. I’ll take it!

Leave a Reply

