Me Ra Koh: “Female awesomeness…”

6 Feb

by Susannah Gill

I first saw Me Ra Koh at Photo Plus Expo in NYC. I was on my way to a Kevin Kubota business class and walking past the Sony booth when I saw a woman presenter – a rarity at these photo conventions! I loved her enthusiasm, her funny voice and her never-ending laughter….I walked as slow as possible to get in as much of her as I could (so slow I was 15 minutes for my class!) Two months later I saw that she was doing a workshop in NYC at Adorama. I was there front and center and soaked her in!

The workshop was a little basic, aimed more at beginners, but still she had so much to offer as far as being a woman in the field! Her story was so inspiring and her rise from photo Mom to photo star is pretty incredible. She had great tips that I instantly applied to my business the next day and I have already seen results from! This woman is exactly what the industry needs; someone real, someone very talented and someone willing to share without making you feel like a dummy for not knowing.

It is hard to actually find her work because her web site is devoted to helping woman learn. She offers business tips and photo tips – what she has coined “photo recipes.” Her life changed 180 degrees after being raped and then later again after the death of her child. She has turned two disastrous events into positives and she uses all this to fuel and motivate herself & woman to be the best that they can be. During her presentations she does show her own work – work that gave me goosebumps, tears and had me laughing out loud!

If you are interested in some female awesomeness at WPPI be sure to check out Me Ra Koh on Wednesday, February 23rd at 8-10 a.m. Find more details about the Platform Class here.

If you want to read more, check out her work and get inspired, here’s where to go…

www.merakoh.com/about-me-ra/
www.merakoh.com/
www.merakoh.com/blog/

One Response to “Me Ra Koh: “Female awesomeness…””

  1. hdipiazza February 7, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    Thank you Susannah for contributing this wonderful article on Me Ra Koh! She sounds like a true inspiration 🙂 Can’t wait to see you at WPPI!

Leave a Reply

