Member Spotlight: Sarah Schulte

3 Feb

Sarah Schulte
Sarah Schulte Photography
Wedding, Portrait, Boudoir
Website: www.sarahschulte.com
Blog: www.ssphotography.wordpress.com

Are you a morning or evening person? Morning, although with a 7 week old baby in the house, I take my sleep whenever I can get it!

Coffee or tea? Hot Chocolate

Something that’s overrated: Nursing tops…can you tell I am in baby mode right now?


Something that’s underrated: Reading the Owners Manual for your camera…at least in my world. I never bothered because (silly me!) I figured “I used to shoot film and know how a camera works,” but I learned so many tricks when I sat down and went through it that have streamlined my shooting!

What was the last thing you ate in 2010? Lasagna, I believe. Yummy, yummy! And I’ve pretty much had it at least once a week since then…it freezes well!

Website/blog(s) you visit daily: Facebook…that’s where I see who’s posted something new on their blog and then I’ll link to it to check it out.

Who is the photographer that inspires you most? Arnold Newman…his environmental portraits are what got me into photography in the first place. He came and spoke at my college, and I immediately changed directions! I hear he’s a bit of a grump to be around, but he sure takes some amazing portraits.

Tell us about your very first shoot: My first wedding was a gift to a friend…she had planned her wedding in 2 weeks and needed all the help she could get. I had no idea what I was doing, and my film ran out right as they were about to cut the cake…I learned my first lesson: always have an extra roll (or memory card) handy!

What’s the one thing in your bag you’d throw yourself in front of a speeding train for? Yikes! That’s a little extreme… I’d probably run from the train…but I adore the 5D Mark II and my 70-200 lens. AND if I was shooting a job and had some full cards in there, I’d grab those first because losing those would be my worst nightmare.

I am passionate about: My baby…she’s taken over my life and I love it…and my family in general. I wouldn’t be doing what I love if it wasn’t for them. AND I am passionate about photography!!! It’s such a blessing to be able to make a living doing what I absolutely love.

To tweet or not to tweet: Well, I tweet…but not very well.

What are the top 5 things on your Photographer’s Wish List?

1. A bigger camera bag

2. A new 50mm lens

3. Magical marketing skills

4. You can never have too many camera bodies (1D Mark IV perhaps?)

5. Time to figure out what else I want!

What do you find most difficult about being a photographer? Pleasing myself. I guess we are all our toughest critics, and if we weren’t we probably wouldn’t improve, but sometimes I need to give myself a break. It’s also difficult for me when a client doesn’t appreciate what I do…sometimes it’s just a numbers game to couples, and they don’t really look at the work.

What do you find most rewarding? The relationships I get to form with my clients. Some of our closest friends are past clients that I have stayed in touch with…it’s important to me to form some sort of bond with couples, to get to know them a bit, and it’s so wonderful to be able to deliver something to them that blows them away and brings back tears as they relive their wedding day. And then there’s always a thrill when you click the shutter and KNOW that you got a great shot…something different that you’ve never gotten before. That’s such a rush.

One Response to “Member Spotlight: Sarah Schulte”

  1. Caitlin February 4, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    Yayyy! Love me some Sarah Schulte!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

