Member Spotlight: Nicole A. Peterson

20 Jan

Nicole A Peterson
Girl Photography – Candid, Natural, You
Wedding & Lifestyle
Website: www.girlphotography.info
Blog: www.girlphotography.info

Are you a morning or evening person? I am definitely a morning person. Maybe the fact that I was born at 4 am plays a part in that.

Coffee or tea? Tea, herbal please. I refrain from caffeine intake of any kind as much as possible.

Something that’s overrated:

1. Facebook. My gosh is it really all that?
2. Designer bags. So over it. Can get great quality bags for a fraction of the cost from independent artisans on etsy.

Something that’s underrated: Philadelphia. I think people underestimate how great a town this is.

What did you have for lunch yesterday? Lamb patties with roasted potatoes, squash, and carrots. Definitely trying to eat healthy and not put on winter weight.

Website/blog(s) you visit daily: There are a ton, but off the top of my head : Etsy, Amazon, Google, Jasmine Star (Yes I am secretly a J* groupie…)

Who is the photographer that inspires you most? Lisa Kristine. One day I want to have pictures as beautiful and moving as hers.

Tell us about your very first shoot: I just bought my camera along to a friend’s birthday party to be the unofficial photographer and from there people started asking me to do shoots for them.

What’s the one thing in your bag you’d throw yourself in front of a speeding train for? Nothing, that’s why I have insurance.

I am passionate about: Ballet. I wish that I could have fulfilled my childhood dream to be a ballerina but now taking class 2-3 times a week is how I have to live out my fantasy.

To tweet or not to tweet: I can’t imagine not doing it.

What are the top 5 things on your Photographer’s Wish List? I really don’t have a long list right now (which is blessing since I started 2010 with a very lengthy need list):

1. iPad

2. iMac

3. Nikon 70-200 VRII

What do you find most difficult about being a photographer? The most difficult thing is being “on” during a photo shoot. I am naturally a shy quiet person so being outgoing and drawing people out is definitely counter to my natural state.

What do you find most rewarding? The most rewarding is when clients see images of moments that were truly meaningful or captures a feeling that sums up their experience or emotion at the time.

5 Responses to “Member Spotlight: Nicole A. Peterson”

  1. jennawalcott January 20, 2011 at 8:08 am #

    Great spotlight, Nicole! Such honest and earnest responses. I love it!

  2. Natalie January 20, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    Absolutely LOVE this! Nicole is so talented – I’ve been a fan of hers for a while! 🙂

  3. Caitlin January 20, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    Nicole- I love you even more now that I know you take ballet!! HOW COOL!

  4. Nicole January 20, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    Thanks ladies.

    @Caitlin That really made me smile today

  5. Ericha January 26, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    Wonderful, Nicole!! Loved this spotlight! Couldn’t agree with you more about Philadelphia too – love this city!

Leave a Reply

