Member Spotlight: Lauri Tripaldi

6 Jan


Lauri Tripaldi
Lalee Photography
Weddings & Portraits
Website: www.laleephotography.com
Blog: http://blog.laleephotography.com

Are you a morning or evening person? I used to be an evening person, and then I had a baby. Now I am a morning person whether I like it or not.

Coffee or tea? Tea for sure.

Something that’s overrated: Slip ‘n slides. You get one pointy rock under that thing and the fun is OVER.

Something that’s underrated: Spanks. Key to wardrobe survival post-baby.

What did you have for lunch yesterday? Cookies and Lindor truffles. ‘Tis the holiday season!

Website/blog(s) you visit daily: etsy.com I’m addicted!

Who is the photographer that inspires you most? I have two and although cliche because they are so popular, I would have to say Jasmine Star and Jessica Claire. Jasmine for her amazing marketing skills (plus she shot my wedding so I have a special place in my heart for her) and Jessica for how she just nails her exposure every single time.

Tell us about your very first shoot: Well the first wedding I shot, everything was going great until it came time for portraits. I had all these family members and bridal party members staring at me and I literally froze. I just stood there and my mind was completely blank. What was I supposed to do with them?! It was pretty much horrible. Luckily, I was shooting with a good friend who stepped in and gave me a minute to pull myself together to start directing everyone. So scary!

What’s the one thing in your bag you’d throw yourself in front of a speeding train for? After falling in a pond with all my gear on a shoot, the train can have my gear. That’s what insurance is for!

I am passionate about: My family. They are the greatest people in the world.

To tweet or not to tweet: I am the worst tweeter. I think I only tweet because when I write a facebook update it automatically updates it.

What are the top 5 things on your Photographer’s Wish List?

1. 50mm 1.2

2. To shoot a wedding in the snow

3. To shoot a wedding in a real castle

4. To shoot a wedding in Ireland

5. To shoot a wedding where the bride wears her mother’s or grandmother’s vintage wedding gown

What do you find most difficult about being a photographer? Pulling myself away from my computer at a decent time every night so I can go spend time with my family. It’s just too easy to answer one more email or edit one more image and before I know it another hour has gone by and husband is sad and lonely on the couch. 😦

What do you find most rewarding? Really connecting with my clients. I get so emotionally invested in my clients that so often I feel like I’m photographing the wedding of two friends I’ve known all my life. I love that.

4 Responses to “Member Spotlight: Lauri Tripaldi”

  1. jennawalcott January 6, 2011 at 8:16 am #

    Love your responses Lauri! Great member spotlight! 🙂

  2. Isabel January 6, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    I *heart* Lauri.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Member Spotlight: Lauri Tripaldi « -- Topsy.com - January 6, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Photo Betties, Lauri Tripaldi. Lauri Tripaldi said: Check out my member spotlight on the Photo Betties Blog! Yay!! :)… http://fb.me/S03t8tbk […]

  2. Lalee Photography Blog » Photo Betties Member Spotlight - January 6, 2011

    […] Photo Betties Member Spotlight: Lauri Tripaldi […]

Leave a Reply

