Member Spotlight: Debbie McGeorge

23 Dec


Debbie McGeorge
Debbie McGeorge Photography | Art + Life Photography
Portraits, Families, Seniors & Weddings
Website: www.debbiemcgeorge.com/blog
Blog: artpluslife.tumblr.com

Are you a morning or evening person?

Total morning person. I really do not function after 3:00.

Coffee or tea?

Soda (hardcore Coke) I’ll do a blueberry tea as needed.

Something that’s overrated:

UGGS (working with sixth graders, I am so over them)

Something that’s underrated:

Networking, we need each other.

What did you have for lunch yesterday?

Chicken salad with cranberries over a spring mix (actually packed my own lunch… amazing and not common!)

Website/blog(s) you visit daily:

• For my personal portrait work www.tarawhitney.com/justbeblogged (I visit EVERYDAY!) Love her style and would love to bring this feeling here on the east coast.

• For wedding/event work, my mentor www.carlateneyck.com. Amazing style and incredible business woman

Who is the photographer that inspires you most? Gordon Parks and Dorothea Lange (see the History/Political Science teacher coming out… if only I would be allowed to teach history through images ~sigh~)

Tell us about your very first shoot:

Since I have been shooting for 25 years [but not as a professional business for the last two], I decided to describe my first wedding experience. I had made the decision to venture into the wedding business but refused to do it alone. I reached out to Denise (Guerin images) to partner up. We had found ourselves with similar elements of our life journey (young kids!) and needed to tread lightly into the wedding photography world. It was going to be great. A beach wedding with a gorgeous couple on LBI – what could go wrong? It just happened to be the weekend that two Northeasterners hit the Jersey shore; we almost could not make it on the island because they were shutting it down. Everything (ceremony to reception) had to be crammed into a little bar with drop ceiling lighting and an entire wall of windows. I will admit we clustered but when the images came out… they rocked!

What’s the one thing in your bag you’d throw yourself in front of a speeding train for?

Unless my kids are crammed in there, everything is replaceable – even my copy of the US Constitution (yes, it’s in all my bags.)

I am passionate about:

My kids, my students (and their futures) and an open creative dialog amongst artists.

To tweet or not to tweet:

Scared to death of it!

What are the top 5 things on your Photographer’s Wish List?

1. Freedom from money and time

2. My youthful step back

3. More technology wisdom

4. 70-200 mm 2.8

5. Flashes (and the confidence to use them correctly)

What do you find most difficult about being a photographer?

Time. Working a full-time job, raising a family, graduate school and a husband taking the Bar exam in February… one can only hope for time and energy.

Lack of Collaboration. After working with Connecticut photographers in workshops, I have found that creating a creative, open, energetic group of artists that network and share is more difficult in this region. This is something I am working hard to fix by creating a partnership with an amazing artist and forming art + life photography.

What do you find most rewarding?

My love for the darkroom and photography started back in high school and continued in college. I studied Art History, as well as photography, and loved the idea that history can be told by the image. To me, art tells the story; I introduce history in my class by images from that time. Allowing kids (I am sixth grade teacher) to express their own story is also my passion. This may be way I am so excited to document peoples’ “rites of passage.” I am giving a way to remember and cherish the story of their lives through photographs.

2 Responses to “Member Spotlight: Debbie McGeorge”

  1. Mia December 23, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    Your pictures have been an amazing to view on facebook. I love your work! Very talented.

  2. Caitlin December 23, 2010 at 10:47 pm #

    Hi Debbie- can’t wait to start following your blog and to hang out at a Betty event:)

Leave a Reply

