Ask Betty: Wondering About Workshops

14 Jul

There are SO MANY workshops out there – some looking more tempting than others. Everyday I get info about a new workshop – I’m just wondering if there are workshops that people have found helpful and if they are something that I should be investing in. Can anyone share some stories about their favorite or most beneficial workshops they have attended in the past and/or ones they aim to attend annually?

9 Responses to “Ask Betty: Wondering About Workshops”

  1. debbie July 14, 2010 at 9:56 am #

    CARLA TEN EYCK!!! changed my life! These are very small groups and she is wonderful. I was drawn to her workshops because I feel that I see images the way she does. It’s worth a tuesday trip to Conn.
    http://www.carlateneyck.com/connecticut-photographers/ten-eyck-tuesday-workshop.html
    this is just a video of one of her days… http://www.carlateneyck.com/workshop/ten-eyck-tuesday-lighting-video.html
    I am heading back on in Aug to be personally mentored by Carla because I feel that it is totally worth EVERY moment (penny)
    ~deb

  2. debbie July 14, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    ok, one more post
    http://www.carlateneyck.com/workshop/july-ten-eyck-tuesday-society-room-hartford.html
    This is the one I took last summer.
    I am trying to get her down here to Philly for a workshop. So if I can promise her at least five participates… I am sure she will come!!! Please e-mail me and let me know debbiemcg@gmail.com
    When I meet with her in Aug, I can approach her again with the idea.
    Also another one I would love to do is Anna Kuperberg. But she does not do them often and is in California (not drivable in a day)
    When I look into workshops I am drawn to woman artists because the men like to be way too technical for me.

  3. hdipiazza July 14, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    I ALSO LOVE Anna Kuperberg – and Ben Chrisman – but they distance/travel is tough for me with limited time… I like the idea of bringing a photog to us – Jenna and I were actually discussing that yesterday… one person that I think would be amazing is Jesh de Rox. We should bring it up and vote at the next PB meeting!

    PS: A few comments on the same topic on a Facebook wall post if ppl are looking for more deets…

  4. hdipiazza July 14, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    Jared Platt is holding a Lightroom Workflow workshop in Philadelphia this month:

    http://www.jaredplattworkshops.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=49

    A good friend of mine took it in NYC and had great things to say.

    PS: Laura Eaton is hosting a PUGs meeting with Jared the day before at her studio in Old City:

    http://www.facebook.com/hdipiazza#!/event.php?eid=133387893361874&ref=mf

  5. debbie July 14, 2010 at 7:37 pm #

    The Jared seems cool (but I will be out of town) but very technical. I like workshops where I can collaborate with artists and hands on. I think that might be the difference between male and female photographers. Another one that friends have attended (again n CT) is Raw Photo Design http://rawphotodesign.com/blog/?cat=38
    It’s a husband and wife team but I need serious help with flash so I was talking to them.
    Joy Moody might be interested in doing a local workshop (she was thinking about it, but may not be ready with her schedule.)
    I was trying to find a blog that I read about how to find the right workshop for you.
    Again, I can keep bugging Carla! Keep you posted on my “hopeful” success

  6. Katie Bradford Osborne July 17, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

    I don’t have personal experience- To be honest with you, post-school my thought was that I had already taken a class in what was covered in workshops, and for the most part that’s true… but it certainly doesn’t give you exposure to the personalities and everyone has a different way of doing things. The more I look into them, the more I think whether we need the technical and business knowledge or not, we could all use the inspiration, and I doubt I would leave workshop without having picked up really useful information! I would love to do workshops with inspiring people like Jesh de Rox- I’ve heard amazing things about his workshop!

  7. hdipiazza July 19, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

    Great point Katie! I think inspiration is HUGE. And I’m excited to hear you like Jesh! If we get a group of 8 ppl he’ll come to us too 😉

  8. Noelle August 5, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    I may be a bit bias but I can’t stress enough how amazing Cliff Mautner’s workshops are!

    http://cliffmautner.typepad.com/

    I work for him and just from hearing people’s comments who have been through the workshop and seeing it first hand, you will not meet someone who cares so much about his students and WANTS to make sure you learn as much as possible before you leave. It is an intense 2.5 days workshop and you will put in a good 25-30 hours of learning and shooting. Cliff has been in the business of photography for over 30 years and is a wealth of knowledge. This class is truly an investment for life and you will always have someone to refer back to because he stays connected with his students. I know a fellow Photo Betty took the course so maybe she can chime in on her own personal experience if she wishes. 😉

    Either way I think its really important to research any workshop that you are interested in because sometimes it may seem like they know what they are talking about but the content may not be worthwhile. The most valuable feedback will be from the students who took it. I do believe there are great ones out there you just have to find them! Since I went to school for Photography, I never would have thought about spending money on a workshop until I saw how much Cliff’s students gained from the experience. It’s good to learn from someone who has been in the business for so long.

    Good luck Photo Betties!

  9. Heather August 26, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    I just heard Cliff Mautner speak at Summer School in Las Vegas. I loved it and thought he was amazing. Through his 1.5 hr time of speaking with us I was not only able to gain insight on who he was an an artist, but what he delivered as a potential educator in the workshop environment. In a sea of almost 300 people, he had a way of connecting with the audience as if we were in a small group. I did not feel like we were being spoken to, but as if he was sharing his perspective and information, to do with as we chose. Because of that, he gained my ultimate respect.

    Now I just need to flip my couch over for change and sell some of my sons toys so I can got to his workshop….

Leave a Reply

