Ask Betty: Three Pressing Questions

9 Jul


“Dear Betty,

1. I recently moved to PA and am looking for resources on taxes. I still haven’t set them up and well, ummmmm, need to. Someone help, please!

2. I am looking for a [free] public location to hold a day of mini sessions preferably in Bucks or Montgomery County, though I am open to surrounding counties.  Here is the tough part- I need an option that would allow for a lack of rain-date, so with a decent indoor option included (ie: barn, etc).  Thank you in advance!

3. I am looking for a stylist and makeup artist that is interested in images for a portfolio. Does anyone know someone who might fit that bill? Thanks to all!

Thanks in advance!!”

– Betty

4 Responses to “Ask Betty: Three Pressing Questions”

  1. Caitlin July 9, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

    #1—google PA Open For Business
    Very easy to set up.

  2. hdipiazza July 12, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    Hey Betty!

    I’ve found craigslist really helpful for finding stylists and makeup artists who are looking to build their portfolio… and I feel like you’d also be able to find models/volunteer subjects as well. Check it out 🙂 And if I hear any buzz I’ll pass it along!

    Heather

  3. Amanda Young July 12, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

    A very wonderful person suggested these to me for good outdoor locations. I have no clue as to the counties (just moved here!)… but from my research they were great suggestions so I thought I’d pass them along anyway…!

    Bartram’s Garden, Morris Arboretum, Terrain, Curtis Arboretum, and Ridley State Park

  4. Noelle July 12, 2010 at 10:53 pm #

    I have a really great accountant based out of Jersey that I can refer if you need someone to help you get everything set up with the business tax paperwork and to file returns at the end of the year. She even sets me up with quarterly tax payment stubs with envelopes on where to send it. She’s a very useful resource throughout the year if I have questions as well. Email me for her contact info.

    Also another business related referral I have to offer is for a local Mac/PC Technician that I recently worked with. Everyone knows the importance of preserving our precious photos, paperwork, etc. but have you ever really thought of what you would do in the even that your computer crashes (and you take it to the genius bar and all they do is confirm that its a failed hard drive – past warrant)?! TRUST ME – I am a very technically inclined person and can pretty much troubleshoot anything but having a go-to person for technical questions and to come to your house to run a diagnostic on your computer is absolutely invaluable. He is a wealth of knowledge with 15+ years of Mac/PC technician experience and can offer an afternoon of comic relief all the while performing miracles on your lifeline. Please email me for more info as well.

    Good luck fellow Photo Betties!

Leave a Reply

